News‎ > ‎

Results - Week Ending 22/05/2016

posted 25 May 2016, 02:28 by Webmaster BADGERS


Gaddesby 7 2016 - BADGERS
Victoria Park in Leicester was the venue for wild celebrations as the Premier League trophy was exhibited by the triumphant Foxes last week and a massive clean-up operation began in order to get the first of the Nice Work Leicester Summer Series 5K race underway a few days later. The BADGERS themselves exhibited wild celebrations too as their men’s team emerged victorious at Victoria in an event they too have a proud history in.

In-form speed merchant Danny Warren ran a tremendous 17:22 to take second place in the race, his fastest run yet on the tricky course. Dave Jackson, who won this last year, finished a place behind in 3rd (18:10). Chris Baxter made his debut with a fine 18:25 to ensure the men’s side romped to another famous win. Aaron Chetwynd clocked an impressive 19:20 and Glyn Broadhurst 19:36 broke the 20 minute barrier to earn top twenty finishes while Adi Payne and Rob Boland continued their improvement with times of 20:39 and 20:54 respectively. Esther McCullagh was the first lady back in a super time of 22:48, while Rachael Bunting (24:29) and Karen Thompson (24:34) made it a glorious performance for the BADGERS ladies who narrowly missed out on the team prize. Other runners included Colin Lees, Alan Argyle, Cheryl Dewis and the popular Jo Thompson. Luke Miles guided Chelsea Wilson to a new PB in 28:25 while Teresa Buck went round determinedly in 41:20.

Sunday saw the first Gaddesby 7 league race take place in the LRRL calendar. Unsurprisingly it was Danny Warren who led the club home finishing in a tremendous 12th place in a time of 41:11, improving his own 7-mile club record in the process. The semi-conscious Dave Jackson finished hard and quickly in 43:27 while Chris Baxter made his league debut in a fine 49th place. Aaron Chetwynd ran a classy 45:54 ahead of first veteran home Glyn Broadhurst, who bagged a PB for his time of 46:51. Skipper Adi Payne once again had the better of his mentor, the returning Martyn Barrett, while Jared Karim, Keir Hardy (PB) and Rob Boland (PB) all ran well.

Rachel Crump was first lady back, a truly superb effort resulting in a time of 52:13, taking over three minutes off the V40 club best set by Esther McCullagh last year. As usual, David Craig was not far behind, with Ashley Taylor, Colin Lees, Nicki Bowman, Alan Argyle, John Hanson, Richard Hill and the popular Dewi Powell all performing heroically. Other runners included Paul Grubb, Will Cartwright, Pat Cleall, Liz Peel, Charlotte Oliver, Helena Rean, Jason Husselbee-Orwin, Judy Parkes, Janet Crumpton, Jo Hardy, Karen Missen, Bev Spencer, Vicky Cawley and Rebecca Clarke.

Adie Kirkham clocked up his 62nd marathon with a brave effort at Worcester, while Abbie Liddle ran the Gent 10K in Belgium in a quality 49:41. Dewi Powell and Dave Craig both ran the Shindig in the Shire half marathon on the Saturday over in Shropshire. Chris Baxter, Paul Grubb and Jason Husselbee-Orwin made their debuts at the scenic and relatively new Rosliston parkrun while the majority of BADGERS made their mark at Kingsbury Water Park.

Dave Jackson made short work of his BADGER team-mates as he stormed to a fine 4th place in 18:25. Glyn Broadhurst just missed out on a top ten finish in 19:11 while Adi Payne continues to improve clocking 20:26 for his efforst over the 5K distance. Esther McCullagh was first lady back in a fine time of 22:02. Other runners included Ashley Taylor, Alan Argyle, John Hanson, Cheryl Dewis, Chris Upton, Fay Casey, John Savin-Baden and Richard Hill. Pete Boardman recorded a new personal best as did Claire Bradford. David Bailey, Judy Parkes and Keir Hardy safely made it round while Liz Peel and Rosie Harding made it a family affair ahead of Carolyn Hall who once again also ran. Debbie Zimmerman and Ashley Carter came through without any problems while newcomer Teresa Buck completed the voluminous turn out of club members as she went through in 43:12.

BADGER of the Week

Group A - 17/05/16
Cheryl Dewis

Group B - 17/05/16
John Hanson
Jo Thompson

Group C - 17/05/16
Michelle Carter